Social-Emotional Learning in Education Using 3DBear

 

As an Indiana connected educator, I reached out to my professional learning network on Twitter to research SEL for professional development.  I started by searching Vicki Davis, @coolcatteacher.  She is a trusted educator that I knew would have some posts about SEL.  Jackpot! She had just posted a link to a webinar featuring a new AR app with SEL lessons sponsored by 3DBear, “Teaching with Augmented Reality from Classroom AR Enthusiasts”.  Due to my love of using augmented reality, I was excited to learn more about a new AR app with a connection to SEL.   But, I was truly embarking on a PD journey by registering for the webinar which led to an ambassador program offered by 3DBear.  By connecting to the link shared by Jaime Donally at the end of the webinar, I registered for a free trial to 3DBear and applied to become a Level 1 Ambassador.  Since then, my school purchased an annual license for my classroom to aide the learning experience by having a teacher’s dashboard feature to monitor the work being designed by my students.  3DBear is fun and easy to use.  My students designed spaces this school year after discovering its endless learning possibilities in designing, 3-D printing, and social-emotional learning. There are several 3DBear lesson plans prepared for teachers to get started using augmented reality with their students.  An additional bonus is 3DBear has been approved by the Digital Citizenship Institute for 2019 -20!

The first lesson I introduced dealt with emotions in February.  It also connected our students in our after school program to a social-emotional learning experience using augmented reality.  Below are some of the SEL images created by first -third-grade elementary students.

3DBear Love Emoji

Emoji in LOVE!

3DBear Scared Emoji with Bear

Emoji Showing Fear!

3DBear Waving Emoji 2019.jpg

Happy Emoji showing the importance of First Impressions.

 

Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) is the new focus of an education.  Now, SEL standards in PK-12 are required in 2019.  The new social-emotional standards adopted by the Indiana Department of Education are listed under Social, Emotional, and Behavioral Wellness. 

 

Leave a comment